Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

What is Bank for International Settlements (BIS)?

Bank for International Settlements (BIS) meaning

established – 20 January 1930; effective – 17 March 1930


aim – to promote cooperation among central banks in international financial settlements


members – (60) Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, European Central Bank, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, NZ, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, UAE, UK, US; note – Montenegro has a separate central bank; its links with BIS are currently under review



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.