Developing Eight (D-8)

What is Developing Eight (D-8)?

Developing Eight (D-8) meaning

established – 15 June 1997


aim – to improve developing countries’ positions in the world economy, diversify and create new opportunities in trade relations, enhance participation in decision-making at the international level, provide better standards of living


member – (8) Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Turkey



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.