Central American Integration System (SICA)

What is Central American Integration System (SICA)?

Central American Integration System (SICA) meaning

established – 13 December 1991; operational 1 February 1993


aim – to strengthen democracy; to set up a new model of regional security; to promote freedom; to achieve a regional system of welfare and economic and social justice; to attain economic unity and strengthen the area as an economic bloc; to act as a bloc in international matters


members – (7) Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama


associated member – (1) Dominican Republic


observers – (15) Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Chile, China, France, Germany, Holy See, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Peru, Spain, US



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html