Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

What is Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)?

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) meaning

established – 7 November 1989


aim – to promote trade and investment in the Pacific basin


members – (21) Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, NZ, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, US, Vietnam


observers – (3) Association of Southeast Asian Nations, Pacific Economic Cooperation Council, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.