Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

What is Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)?

Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) meaning

established – November 1990


aim – to call attention to threats of sea-level rise and coral bleaching to small islands and lowlying coastal developing states from global warming; to emphasize the importance of information and information technology in the process of achieving sustainable development


members – (39) Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Cook Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kiribati, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Vanuatu


observers – (5) American Samoa, Guam, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.