Union Latina

What is Union Latina?

Union Latina meaning

established – 15 May 1954; became functional 1983


aim – to project, protect, and promote the common heritage and unifying identities of the Latin, and Latin-influenced, world


members – (36) Andorra, Angola, Bolivia, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Chile, Colombia, Cote d’Ivoire, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Italy, Moldova, Monaco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Spain, Timor-Leste, Uruguay, Venezuela


observers – (4) Argentina, Holy See, Mexico, Order of Malta



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html