countries in transition

What is countries in transition?

countries in transition meaning

a term used by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the middle group in its hierarchy of formerly centrally planned economies; IMF statistics include the following 28 countries in transition: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan; note – this group is identical to the group traditionally referred to as the “former USSR/Eastern Europe” except for the addition of Mongolia



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.