Central European Initiative (CEI)

What is Central European Initiative (CEI)?

Central European Initiative (CEI) meaning

note – evolved from the Quadrilateral Initiative and the Hexagonal Initiative


established – 11 November 1989 as the Quadrilateral Initiative, 27 July 1991 became the Hexagonal Initiative, July 1992 its present name was adopted


aim – to form an economic and political cooperation group for the region between the Adriatic and the Baltic Seas


members – (18) Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html