Shell Branches

Shell branches are limited service branches that do not conduct transactions with residents, other than with other shell branches, in the country in which they are located. Transactions at shell branches are usually initiated and effected by their head office or by other related branches outside the country in which the shell branches are located, with records and supporting documents maintained at the initiating offices. Examples of such locations are the Bahamas and the Cayman Islands.


reference: FFIEC