Group of 5 (G-5)

What is Group of 5 (G-5)?

Group of 5 (G-5) meaning

note – with the addition of Italy, Canada, and Russia, it is now known as the Group of 8 or G-8; meanwhile the Group of 5 now refers to Brazil, China, India, Mexico, and South Africa


established – 22 September 1985


aim – to coordinate the economic policies of five major noncommunist economic powers


members – (5) France, Germany, Japan, UK, US



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.