European Space Agency (ESA)

What is European Space Agency (ESA)?

European Space Agency (ESA) meaning

established – 31 May 1975


aim – to promote peaceful cooperation in space research and technology


members – (20) Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK


cooperating states – (3) Estonia, Hungary, Slovenia



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.