Pacific Islands Forum (PIF)

What is Pacific Islands Forum (PIF)?

Pacific Islands Forum (PIF) meaning

note – formerly known as South Pacific Forum (SPF)


established – 5 August 1971


aim – to promote regional cooperation in political matters


members – (16) Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, NZ, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu


associate members – (2) French Polynesia, New Caledonia


partners – (14) Canada, China, EU, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, UK, US


observers – (12) ACP Group, American Samoa, Asia Development Bank, The Commonwealth, Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, Guam, Timor-Leste (special observer), Tokelau, UN, Wallis and Futuna, Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission, the World Bank



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.