former USSR/Eastern Europe (former USSR/EE)

What is former USSR/Eastern Europe (former USSR/EE)?

former USSR/Eastern Europe (former USSR/EE) meaning

the middle group in the hierarchy of developed countries (DCs), former USSR/Eastern Europe (former USSR/EE), and less developed countries (LDCs); these countries are in political and economic transition and may well be grouped differently in the near future; this group of 27 countries consists of: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Yugoslavia; this group is identical to the IMF group “countries in transition” except for the IMF’s inclusion of Mongolia



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.