Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG)

What is Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG)?

Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) meaning

note – also known as the London Suppliers Group or the London Group


established – 1974; effective – 1975


aim – to establish guidelines for exports of nuclear materials, processing equipment for uranium enrichment, and technical information to countries of proliferation concern and regions of conflict and instability


members – (48) Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, NZ, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, US


observer – (2) Chairman of the Zangger Committee, European Commission (a policy-planning body for the EU)



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.