European Central Bank (ECB)

What is European Central Bank (ECB)?

European Central Bank (ECB) meaning

established – 1 June 1998


aim – to administer the monetary policy of the EU Eurozone member states


members – (18) Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.