Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)

What is Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)?

Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) meaning

established – 6 February 1947; effective 29 July 1948


aim – to serve island development in 22 Pacific countries; to develop technical assistance and professional, scientific, and research support; to build planning and management capability


members – (26) America Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, NZ, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, US, Wallis and Futuna



reference: The World Factbook 2017. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2017.